

SRS Citizens Advisory Board

Bylaws Subcommittee

Meeting Summary July 25, 1994 Aiken, S.C.

The Bylaws Subcommittee met Monday, July 25 to finalize Draft Bylaws to be presented to the SRS Citizens Advisory Board on July 26. Changes made to the Draft Bylaws at this subcommittee meeting are attached and highlighted in bold italicized print.

Board members present were Rachael Harper, chairperson of the Bylaws Subcommittee, Andrew Rea, Julie Arbogast and Walter Jones. Virginia Gardner of the Department of Energy and Dawn Haygood of Westinghouse Savannah River Company also attended.

The committee discussed Board member conflicts of interest and decided to develop this section of the Bylaws by combining guidelines from the original SRS Charter and DOE Order 1130.6. They also decided to limit the number of DOE or its managing contractor employees' participation to three employees serving as Board members at any one time.

The committee discussed terms of office of Board members and methods of election. Rachael Harper stated that Anne Brown felt that people with applications on file should not have to reapply for Board membership. Andrew Rea and Julie Arbogast felt that current information was necessary.

The committee examined Article IV of the Bylaws which refers to officers of the Board and discussed duties of officers, such as the chair's role as official spokesperson for the Board, and election of officers. They then discussed subcommittees and the general public's participation as subcommittee members.

After much discussion on Article VI of the Bylaws, which refers to meetings, the committee decided that regular meetings should be held bi-monthly and set in communities in Georgia and South Carolina with an effort made to provide equal and reasonable access to these areas. They also decided a reasonable amount of time should be reserved for public comment at every regular meeting of the Board.

The committee determined that meeting minutes should be maintained in repositories and available to the public within 30 days of their approval by the Board, and that the presence of two-thirds of the Board members serving would constitute a quorum for the transaction of business. The committee added two statements to Section 6.13, Compensation for Expenses, stating that Board members will be paid in accordance with federal travel regulations and that each member is entitled to any other compensation authorized by the Agencies as well.

The meeting adjourned at 9 p.m.