

SRS <u>C</u>itizens <u>A</u>dvisory <u>B</u>oard

Administrative Committee

Meeting Summary

January 14, 2000 Kiawah Island Resort Kiawah Island, SC

The SRS Citizens Advisory Board Administrative Committee met at 4 p.m. on Friday, January 14, 2000, at the Kiawah Island Resort Town Center, Kiawah Island, S.C. Beaurine Wilkins chaired the meeting. Members in attendance were Lola Richardson, Jimmy Mackey, Becki Witter, Karen Patterson, Maria Reichmanis, and Brendolyn Jenkins. Mel Galin and Murray Riley were also present. Members not in attendance include Lane Parker and Georgia Leverett. Gerri Flemming was the Associated Designated Federal Official present.

The Committee met to discuss initiating removal procedures to request that the Department of Energy withdraw its appointment of Mr. Earnest Marshall of Decatur, Georgia from Board membership in accordance with Section 6.6 of the Board bylaws. Mr. Marshall had been absent from four unexcused consecutive full board meetings. Board members may be considered for dismissal following two unexcused absences. Although Mr. Marshall did attend a few subcommittee meetings in 1999, he has not attended a full Board meeting since his initial meeting. Lola Richardson moved the Administrative Committee process with removal procedures and Becki Witter seconded the motion. All members present were in agreement.

The Administrative Committee next selected three minority candidates and an alternate in the event that Mr. Marshall's appointment was in fact withdrawn. The following candidates were selected:

Shawn Atkins, St. Helena Island, S.C. Lena Dowling, Bamberg, S.C. William Lawrence, Bamberg, S.C.

Each candidate represents the minority category from a location not previously represented by the SRS Citizens Advisory Board.

The meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.