

SRS Citizen's Advisory Board

Savannah River Site Citizens Advisory Board Administrative Committee Meeting Summary Savannah Rapids Pavilion, Martinez, GA October 29, 2004 8:30 a.m.

The Administrative Committee met October 29, 2004, at the Savannah Rapids Pavilion in Martinez, Ga. The following CAB members attended:

CAB Members	DOE/C
Meryl Alalof	Dawn H
Gerald Devitt	Gerri Fle
Mary Drye	Mike Sc
William Lawrence	
Mel Galin	
Jean Sulc	

DOE/Contractor Dawn Haygood Gerri Flemming Mike Schoener

The meeting began with a discussion of the positions to be filled in 2005. Selection of at least two qualified candidates for the following categories was required:

Public Official	at least 1 position
Academia	at least 1 position
Environmental	at least 1 position
Activist	
Labor	at least 1 position
Minority	at least 2 positions
General Public	at least 6 positions

Of thirteen members currently filling one of the above positions, seven members elected to submit their applications for re-election.

The committee had conducted phone interviews with all candidates prior to the meeting.

Board members reviewed the criteria to be ensured during the selection process to maintain compliance with the Board's Bylaws Section 3.3. Based on the criteria established by the current Board members remaining in office, the following criteria must be met in addition to the categorical requirements listed above:

Candidate Needs Assessment

- Four Females
- Four African Americans
- Approximately 3 individuals from South Carolina and 10 from Georgia

• Approximately 6 individuals from counties directly impacted by SRS and 6 non-direct counties.

Candidate applications and phone interviews were provided to all Administrative Committee members for review prior the meeting to facilitate the selection process.

All candidates were considered for membership. All female candidates and all African American candidates were placed on the ballot. The committee determined how to run the various candidates in vacated positions initially and then selected candidates to run against incumbents in the other areas. Categories were so varied that they were not assigned to the individual positions. The following candidates were selected:

Position 1 Meryl Alalof, Martinez, Ga. (I) Donnie Beer, Beaufort, S.C.

Position 3 Mary Drye, Augusta, Ga. (I) Barbara Zmijewski, Augusta, Ga.

Position 5 Bill Lawless, Augusta, Ga. (I) Dalton Brannen, Augusta, Ga. Malcom Page, Augusta, Ga.

Position 7 Gerald Devitt, Aiken, S.C. (I) Dell Isham, Columbia, S.C. William Stanley, Lexington, S.C.

Position 9 Ellie Galin, Savannah, Ga. Tracey Carroll, Aiken, S.C.

Position 11 Peter Arrowsmith, Savannah, Ga. John Pickett, Aiken, S.C. Joseph Ortaldo, Aiken, S.C.

Position 13 Manuel Bettencourt, Hilton Head, S.C. Don Kantor, Okatie, S.C. Harold Cahill, Beaufort, S.C. **Position 2** Donna Antonucci, Savannah, Ga. (I) Dorothy Barnard, Evans, Ga.

Position 4 Leon Chavous, Orangeburg S.C. (I) William Palphreyman, Okatie, S.C.

Position 6 Wendell Lyon, Waynesboro, Ga. (I) Charles Foster, Trenton, S.C. Jon Peterson, Savannah, Ga.

Position 8 Jimmy Mackey, Beaufort, S.C. Kendall Corley, Lexington, S.C.

Position 10 James Campbell, Augusta, Ga. Ranowul Jzar, Savannah, Ga.

Position 12 Art Domby, Atlanta, Ga. Richard Herold, Aiken, S.C. Larry Baratto, North Augusta, S.C.

The following criteria are assured by the above slate of candidates:

Position 1 ensures a female academia or business representative.Position 2 ensures a female general public representative.Position 3 ensures a female minority position from a direct county in Georgia.Position 8 ensures an African American from South Carolina.Position 10 ensures an African American from Georgia.

Alternates were not selected since all candidates were interviewed prior to selection and their interest determined.

Committee members also discussed board meeting attendance and membership appointments.