

SRS Citizen's Advisory Board

Savannah River Site

Administrative Committee

October 5, 2005, 8:30 a.m. Wild Dunes Charleston, S.C.

The Administrative Committee met October 5, 2005, at Wild Dunes, Isle of Palms, S.C. The following CAB members attended:

<u>CAB Members</u> Meryl Alalof Gerald Devitt Manuel Bettencourt William Lawrence Jean Sulc Joe Ortaldo Wendell Lyon Jimmy Mackey DOE/Contractor Dawn Haygood Gerri Flemming Mike Schoener Teresa Haas Becky Craft

The meeting began with a discussion of the positions to be filled in 2006. Selection of at least two qualified candidates for the following categories was required:

Public Official	at least 1 position
Academia	at least 1 position
Environmental Activist	at least 1 position
Labor	at least 1 position
General Public	at least 6 positions

Of twelve members currently filling one of the above positions, four members elected to submit their applications for re-election. It was noted the Board's Bylaws had been modified to allow for no more than a certain number of positions in each category and that the committee should strive to meet the above requirements.

Phone interviews were conducted with all candidates prior to the meeting.

Board members reviewed the criteria to be ensured during the selection process to maintain compliance with the Board's Bylaws Section 3.3. Based on the criteria established by the current Board members remaining in office, the following criteria must be met in addition to the categorical requirements listed above:

Candidate Needs Assessment

Seven Females

- Four African Americans
- Approximately 6 individuals from South Carolina and 6 from Georgia
- Approximately 6 individuals from counties directly impacted by SRS and 6 non-direct counties.

Candidate applications and phone interviews were provided to all Administrative Committee members for review prior the meeting to facilitate the selection process.

All candidates were considered for membership. All female candidates were placed on the ballot. Each committee member was asked to name their top candidate for consideration to be placed on a bin list of candidates the members most wanted to see listed on the ballot. This process was repeated a second time. The committee developed the following ballot based on this year's membership requirements. Categories were so varied that they were not assigned to the individual positions. The following candidates were selected:

Position 1

Clara Chance, Augusta, Ga. Cynthia Gilliard, Aiken, S.C. Sarah Watson, Irmo, S.C.

Position 3

Barbara Paul, Pelion, S.C. Lynn Thompson, Evans, S.C.

Position 5

Howard Cahill, Beaufort, S.C. Charles Foster, Trenton, S.C. Robert Meisenheimer, Hilton Head, S.C. (I). Alternate: John Culbertson, Edgefield, S.C.

Position 7

Elaine Boyington, Savannah, Ga. Cheryl David, Savannah, Ga. Mercredi Giles, Savannah, Ga.

Position 9

Undrey Bostic, Augusta, Ga. Charles Utley, Augusta, Ga. Alex Williams, Aiken, S.C. Alternate: Eralphia Eckles

Position 11

Robert Beliles, Hilton Head, S.C. David Dawson, Savannah, Ga. Dell Isham, Columbia, S.C.

Position 2

Dorothy Barnard, Evans, Ga. Donnie Beer, Beaufort, S.C. Karen Patterson, Aiken, S.C. (I)

Position 4

Gloria Williams-Way, Augusta, Ga. (I) Barbara Zmijewski, Augusta, Ga.

Position 6

Terri Chaput, Savannah, Ga. Madeleine Marshall, Aiken, S.C.

Position 8

Eleanor Galin, Savannah, Ga. Judith Greene-McLeod, Jackson, S.C. Kathleen Sobel, Bluffton, S.C.

Position 10

Kuppuswam Jayaraman, Savannah, Ga. Christopher Timmers, Columbia, S.C. John Winarchick, Hilton Head, S.C. Alternates: Don Morris and Ed Wade

Position 12

Dalton Brannen, Augusta, Ga. Matt Bronson, Martinez, Ga. Wade Waters, Savannah, Ga. Alternates: Don Morris and Ed Wade

The following criteria are assured by the above slate of candidates:

Position 1 ensures a female African American representative.

Position 2 ensures a female representative from a direct county.

Position 3 ensures a female representative.

Position 4 ensures a female representative from a direct county in Georgia.

Position 5 ensures a male representative from a non-direct county in South Carolina.

Position 6 ensures a female representative.

Position 7 ensures a female African American representative from a nondirect county in Georgia. Position 8 ensures a female representative.

Position 9 ensures an African American male representative from a direct county.

Position 10 ensures a representative from a non-direct county.

Position 11 ensures a representative from a non-direct county.

Position 12 ensures a representative from Georgia.

The meeting adjourned at 6:30 p.m.